Below are examples for the most common types of sources that you will be using and citing.
Follow the examples in the boxes to the best of your ability. Remember this is a learning experience and your teachers and your librarians are always available and happy to help you as you learn this new citation style.
Cite an image the same way that you would cite written information from a resource.
For example, if you find the image in a book, use the book citation model. If you find it on a database, use the database model.
If the database provides you with a Chicago Style citation, you may use that. If not, then follow the format below to the best of your ability.
Bibliography (provided by EBSCO)
Chesnut, Mary Boykin. "Mary Chesnut's Civil War, 1861-1865." In Women in America. American Journey. Woodbridge, CT: Primary Source Media, 1999. Student Resources In Context (accessed March 28, 2019). http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/EJ2161000059/SUIC?u=char54065&sid=SUIC&xid=adf24830.
Shortened Footnote
1. Chesnut. Civil War.
Author Last name, First name. "Title". PDF. Date of Access.
Bibliography Entry
Glenn, Karen. "Travels through Cambodia." PDF. 5 April 2019.
Shortened Footnote
1. Glenn, "Cambodia."
Bibliography Entry
Author Last name, First name. Title in italics. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
Smith, Zadie. Swing Time. New York: Penguin Press, 2016.
Shortened footnote
1. Smith, Swing Time, 320.
Bibliography Entry
Author Last name, First name. "Article title in quotes." Publication in italics, Date of publication. URL (link).
Manjoo, Farhad. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times, March 8, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-
Shortened Footnote
1. Manjoo, “Snap.”
Bibliography Entry
Author OR Publisher. "Article Title." Date Created OR Date of Access. URL (link).
Bouman, Katie. “How to Take a Picture of a Black Hole.” Filmed November 2016 at TEDx Beacon Street, Brookline, MA. Video, 12:51. https://www.ted.com/talks/katiebouman
Yale University. “About Yale: Yale Facts.” Accessed May 1, 2017. https://www.yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.
Shortened Footnote
1. Bouman. "Black Hole."
1. “Yale Facts.”
When citing a primary source found online, be sure to use the document 's author and title as opposed to the website editor or title .
Document author last name, first name. "Document title". Date document was created if available. Publisher of website document was found on. Date of access, URL.
Bibliography Entry
Rousseau, Jean Jacques. "The Social Contract." 1763. Fordham University. April 17, 2019. https://sourcebooks.fordham.edu/mod/rousseau-soccon.asp
Shortened Footnote
Rousseau, "Social contract."