Welcome to the Upper School Library!We are open 7:30-5:30 daily unless the US Squawker announces a schedule change.Your Upper School Librarian, Ms. O'Rear, Head Librarian, Mrs. Long,and Library Cataloger Mrs. Richardson are happy to help you with your library needs. |
Looking For Smoke
The Truth About Everything
The Boys of Riverside
Killer House Party
Halfway There
The Loop
Library Catalog
Search the library catalog here:
Need a book idea? Check out this Padlet.
Please reach out to your librarian with any questions or needs.
Upper School Librarian: Allison O'Rear - allison.orear@charlottelatin.org
You can also email our head librarian.
Head Librarian: Emily Long - emily.long@charlottelatin.org
Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Purdue OWL Chicago Formatting and Style Guide
CLS Chicago Manual of Style (LibGuide)
*Note: Course and project specific LibGuides can be found in the LiGuides tab at the top of this page.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted site.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended web sites
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. You can click the word to hear the correct pronunciation.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Includes a suite of seven databases geared toward specific age ranges and abilities, with four student versions of the encyclopedia.
The CLS Library provides each student and teacher an online subscription to the New York Times.
To activate your NY Times Pass, please follow these steps:
1. To grab a pass click HERE. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address.
2. After you grab a pass, a confirmation will be sent to your school email.
3. Check your email for the confirmation message, click on the link to validate your email address and claim your Pass. (If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to edu@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.)
4. You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the "Start Your Access" screen. Now you can enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.
HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.
Username: cls
Password: Latinhawks9502!
Global Newsstream provides access to the most influential and respected contemporary news resources from around the globe — from today's news to backfiles dating back to the 1980s. This comprehensive contemporary news collection delivers superior access to current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, video, podcasts, and digital-only websites. There are no paywalls, and content for the most important sources loads by 8:00 AM U.S. Eastern Time each day.
This “gold standard” contemporary news collection combines ProQuest's U.S. Newsstream, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream into one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Username: library@charlottelatin.org
Password: CLShawks22
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world.
A-Z List of all databases found here
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Included in our subscription are American Government, American History, Daily Life Through History, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, World History: The Modern Era and World Religions.
Username: latinhawks
Password: latinhawks
Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s.
Username: latinhawks
Password:cls
The Bloom's library of literary criticism presents expert analysis, by world-renowned scholar Harold Bloom, of the writers and works most often studied in high schools and universities.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Concise, reliable and up-to-date country, state and Canadian province reports.
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
EBSCO: Advanced Placement Source
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Covering a wide array of subject areas from the arts and multicultural studies to the STEM subjects, for honors, AP or IB programs.
EBSCO: Biography Reference Center
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography and Biography Today.
EBSCO: History Reference Center
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century.
EBSCO: Literary Reference Center
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
A rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods.
EBSCO: Poetry & Short Story Reference Center
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
A rich full-text database containing thousands of classic and contemporary poems, short stories, biographies, essays, lesson plans and learning guides.
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
EBSCO: Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.
EBSCO: Religion & Philosophy Collection
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research.
EBSCO: Science Reference Center
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos.
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Provides uncompromising analysis of critical global trends to give academics, policymakers and businesspeople the context they need to have the confidence they want.
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
Access Code: char_log
Offers cross-curricular content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Access Code: char_log
Covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana.
Access Code: char_log
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Gale: Literature Resource Center
Access Code: char_log
Researchers can find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
A digital library of academic journals, books and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform and preserves this content for future generations.
National Geographic Virtual Library
Access Code: char_log
Includes National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current, National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World, and National Geographic Kids.
A full-text Spanish-language database covering a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!