US- World History 1 Annotated Bibliography 2025: Assignment

Annotated Bibliography Assignment

Due May 14

Full assignment link found here

As the culmination of World History I, you are expected to demonstrate your understanding of Historiography and the historian’s craft.  Effective historians know how to distinguish between, evaluate, and utilize various types of sources, as well as produce properly formatted, Chicago style, footnote citations and bibliography information.  The annotated bibliography assignment provides an opportunity to practice these skills, and make connections to class themes and the modern world. No AI or outside tools may be used in the analysis of sources or writing. All submitted work must be in your own words.

What is an annotated bibliography?  Cornell University defines one as, “…a list of citations to books, articles, and documents.  Each citation is followed by a brief descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation.”

What is the purpose of an annotated bibliography?  The purpose is to explain to the reader the relevance and quality of the sources used in a research assignment.

Required Components

• Research topic
• Research Question
• 5 sources with an analysis paragraph that includes a quotation
• Thesis
• Abstract 
• Connection to 1 Theme, in any written part 
• Conversation

5 types of sources - 

• A visual (map, video, artwork, cartoon, etc.). **You will include a copy with your completed paper as an Appendix**
• A written, primary source (electronic or print)
• An entry from a database (e.g. EBSCO, JSTOR) that is not a common knowledge source (e.g. “Research Starter”)
• A website
• A source of your choice

To