US- World History 1 Annotated Bibliography 2025: Online Resources

As you select website sources, be sure to evaluate their validity and reliability.

The CRAAP Test is an evaluation method that was designed by librarian Sarah Blakeslee at the Meriam Library California State Universiy, Chico. CRAAP stands for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy and Purpose. This provides you with a method and list of questions to evaluate the nature and value of the information that you find.

• Evaluating Information – Applying the CRAAP Test
  Document from Meriam Library - California State University, Chico

Currency: the timeliness of the information

• When was the information published or posted?
• Has the information been revised or updated?
• Is the information current or out-of date for your topic?
• Are the links functional?   

Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs

• Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
• Who is the intended audience?
• Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
• Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
• Would you be comfortable using this source for a research paper?

Authority: the source of the information

• Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
• Are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations given?
• What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations given?
• What are the author's qualifications to write on the topic?
• Is there contact information, such as a publisher or e-mail address?
• Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?
  •  examples:
    • .com (commercial), .edu (educational), .gov (U.S. government)
    • .org (nonprofit organization), or
    • .net (network)

Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

• Where does the information come from?
• Is the information supported by evidence?
• Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
• Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
• Does the language or tone seem biased and free of emotion?
• Are there spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

Purpose: the reason the information exists

• What is the purpose of the information? to inform? teach? sell? entertain? persuade?
• Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
• Is the information fact? opinion? propaganda?
• Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
• Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?

Slides from Day 1 and 2 of research can be found here.

A few suggestions for primary sources:

• Internet Archive: Wayback Machine
• Fordham University Internet History Sourcebook Project
• British Museum Online Collection
• Metropolitan Museum

Databases for Research

ABC- CLIO

Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Included in our subscription are American Government, American History, Daily Life Through History, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, World History: The Modern Era and World Religions.

Ancient & Medieval History 

Username: latinhawks
Password: latinhawks
Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s.

EBSCO

Integrated search of all EBSCO databases

Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2025!

EBSCO: Biography Reference Center 

Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2025!
Thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography and Biography Today. 

EBSCO: History Reference Center 

Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2025!
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century.

EBSCO: Points of View 

Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2025!
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

EBSCO: Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection 

Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2025!
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. 

EBSCO: Religion & Philosophy Collection 

Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2025!
Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. 

EBSCO: World Politics Review 

Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2025!
Provides uncompromising analysis of critical global trends to give academics, policymakers and businesspeople the context they need to have the confidence they want.

Gale in Context: High School 

Access Code: latinhawks
Offers cross-curricular content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints 

Access Code: latinhawks
Covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. 

JSTOR 

Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
A digital library of academic journals, books and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform and preserves this content for future generations.

National Geographic Virtual Library 

Access Code: latinhawks
Includes National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current, National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World, and National Geographic Kids.

ProQuest Global Newsstream 

Username: cls
Password: Latinhawks9502!
Global Newsstream provides access to the most influential and respected contemporary news resources from around the globe — from today's news to backfiles dating back to the 1980s. This comprehensive contemporary news collection delivers superior access to current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, video, podcasts, and digital-only websites. There are no paywalls, and content for the most important sources loads by 8:00 AM U.S. Eastern Time each day.

General Reference Databases (for background knowledge)

Britannica ImageQuest 

Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted site.

Britannica School Online 

Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended web sites

Gale in Context: High School 

Access Code: latinhawks
Offers cross-curricular content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.