For questions or research help, see Ms. O'Rear in the library or email allison.orear@charlottelatin.org
Use this tool for the yellow light portions of your history assignments.
Flint History Research Assistant
When citing AI, follow this format:
Format: AI Tool Name. Response to “Prompt.” Publisher (company that makes the tool). Date of use. URL link to conversation.
Example 1: Flint. Response to “What role did the Catholic Church play in the life of Leonardo da Vinci.” Flint, Inc. January 30, 2024. https://app.flintk12.com/activities/history-researc-8f164a/sessions/369d7019-a9b7-4a6d-8f5c-ab267b0e5903
More details about citation can be found on the Chicago Bibliography and Footnote Guide.
Upper School History Department
Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide
NOTE - Please use Times New Roman, size 12 font and double space your paper (Bibliography is single-spaced with extra spaces between citations).
First Page Headings (Double-spaced). A separate title page is not necessary.
Left side: Right side:
Your Name Last name, page number
Instructor’s Name
Class Period
Date
Subsequent Pages
On the right side of the page, at the top, type your last name and the page number.
Chicago papers do not use in-text citations like those found in MLA. Instead, sources are cited in numbered footnotes at the bottom of that page. Footnotes follow any information that is considered uncommon knowledge whether directly quoted, summarized or paraphrased. Any direct quotation must also have a corresponding footnote.
Notes and Bibliography (also known as the Chicago NB format)
Footnotes go at the bottom of the page on which the source is referenced.
Use a superscript number in the text of the paper, at the end of the sentence in which the source is referenced, after the punctuation. Footnoted sources must also be listed in a separate bibliography.See example below for footnotes for a book source and a website.
Bibliography
The bibliography must include every source you cited within your footnotes AND any other sources you consulted during your research. The bibliography is its own page and it goes at the end of the paper. Bibliography entries are to be in alphabetical order.
“About Yale: Yale Facts.” Yale University. Accessed May 1, 2017, https://www.yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.
Smith, Zadie. Swing Time. New York: Penguin Press, 2016.
Footnote (These are the shortened version and can be used when the full citation is on your Bibliography).
Below are two websites that you may want to consult for source-specific footnote and bibliography entry formats.
Chicago Manual of Style:
http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/tools_citationguide/citation-guide-1.html
Purdue Owl: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/717/01/