CLS Guide for Chicago Style Citations 2023/24: Citation Examples - 2023/24

"Title of video or a brief description." Platform you watched the video on (for example, Youtube), the time on the video where you found the information. The name of the person or channel who uploaded the video to Youtube, The date it was uploaded to Youtube. The URL link.

Bibliography Entry
“IBM's Watson Wins Person of the Year at the 15th Annual Webby Awards.”  YouTube. Posted by
     TheWebbyAwards, June 13, 2011.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=makDyycHvmw&feature=fvhl.

Footnote Entry

"IBM's Watson," 2:47

If you found your artwork through Google Images, you must click through to get to the original source of the image. Google Images is not a source - it is an index of sources, and you cannot cite it. 

Architecture and Art Found on the Web: 

Artists Last name, First name. Title of artwork in italic, Year the art was made. Place the artwork can be found (typically a museum). Date of access. Link.

Bibliography Entry

Dior, Christian. May, 1953.  New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art. Accessed January 5, 2011. http://www.metmuseum.org/Collections/search-the-collections/80002249.

Footnote Entry

Dior, "May"

Architecture and Art Found in a Book:

Artists Last name, First name. "Title of artwork in quotes." Year the art was made. In Title of the book you found it in in italics, by author of book First name Last name. City of Publication: Publisher, Year published. page number the artwork is on.

Bibliography Entry

Delaroche, Paul. "Portrait of a Woman."  In European Drawings from the Collection of the Ackland Art Museum, by  Carol C. Gillham and Carolyn H. Wood. Chapel Hill: The Museum, University of North Carolina, 2001, page 93.

Footnote Entry

Delaroche,"Portrait"

Cite an image the same way that you would cite written information from a resource. 

For example, if you find the image in a book, use the book citation model. If you find it on a database, use the database model.

Author OR Publisher. "Article Title." Date Created OR Date of Access. URL (link).

Bibliography Entry

Example with an author

Bouman, Katie. “How to Take a Picture of a Black Hole.” November 2016.  https://www.ted.com/talks/katiebouman

Example with only a publisher

Yale University.  “About Yale: Yale Facts.” Accessed May 1, 2017. https://www.yale.edu/about-yale/yale-facts.

Footnote Entry

Example with an author

Bouman, "How to"

Example with only a publisher

“About Yale”

Author Last name, First name. Title in italics. Publisher, Year of Publication. Page number.

or

Editor Last name, First name, ed., Title in italics. Publisher, Year of Publication. Page number.

Bibliography Entry

Smith, Zadie. Swing Time. New York: Penguin Press, 2016.

Footnote Entry

Smith, Swing Time, 320

Author last name, first name. "Title of section or primary source in quotation marks." In the title of textbook or anthology in italics, edited by first name last name, page number you found the information. City, State of publication: Publisher, Year of book publication.

BIbliograpy:

Jubayer, Ibn. "Travels." In The Human Record, edited by Juanity Andrea and Susan Overfield, 276-280. Boston, MA: Cengage Learning, 2016.

Footnote:

Jubayer, "Travels," 277

If the database provides you with a Chicago Style citation, you may use that. If not, then follow the format below to the best of your ability.

If there is also a page number - add the page number before the database name.

Bibliography (provided by EBSCO)

Yeager, Sara E. “Roast Level and Brew Temperature Significantly Affect the Color of Brewed Coffee.” Journal of Food Science 87, no. 4 (April 1, 2022): 1837–50. Medline. https://discovery.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=26d32913-fc3d-3098-af65-bd0503e72d01.

Footnote Entry

Yeager, "Roast Level"

Title of the Encyclopedia in italic, s.v. "Title of the encyclopedia article in quotation marks," Date the article was accessed, link.

Bibliography Entry

World Book Online, s.v. "Ancient Persia," accessed September 24, 2021,https://www.worldbookonline.com/student-new/#/article/home/ar424165/persia

Footnote Entry

*no footnote needed since this is a common knowledge resource.

Bible 

Name of the Book the Chapter Number: the Verse Number. 

Luke 2:1. 

Torah

Name of the Book the Chapter Number: the Verse Number. 

Exodus 4:1-8

Qu'ran or Koran

Koran sections

Koran 19:17-21

Last name, first name of the person being interviewed. First name last name. of the interviewer Name of the broadcast in italics. Publisher of the broadcast, Date of broadcast. Link.

Bibliography Entry

Downey, Robert, Jr. Interview by Graham Norton. The Graham Norton Show. BBC America, December 14, 2009. https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006xnzc.

Footnote Entry

            Downey, "The Graham" 

When citing a primary source found online, be sure to use the document 's author and title as opposed to the website editor or title .

Document author last name, first name. "Document title." Date document was created if available. Publisher of website document was found on. Date of access. URL.

Bibliography Entry for Primary Source Found on a Website

Rousseau, Jean Jacques. "The Social Contract." 1763. Fordham University.  Accessed April 17, 2019. https://sourcebooks.fordham.edu/mod/rousseau-soccon.asp

Bibliography Entry for Primary Source Found in a Book

Document author last name, first name. "Document title." Date document was created if available. From the Book's Author Last name, First name. Title in italics. Publisher, Year of Publication. Page number.

Footnote Entry

Rousseau, "The Social"

Author Last name, First name. "Article title in quotes." Publication in italics, Date of publication. URL (link).

Bibliography Entry

Manjoo, Farhad. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times, March 8, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-

Footnote Entry

Manjoo, “Snap Makes”

Author Last name, First name. "Title". PDF. Date of Access. Link.

Bibliography Entry

Glenn, Karen. "Travels through Cambodia." PDF.  April 5, 2019.

Footnote Entry

Glenn, "Travels through"