Welcome to the CLS Employee Library PageWe are open 7:30-5:30 daily.LS Librarians: Nancy Atwell (TK-1/5) & Meghan Rinehart (2-4/5)MS Librarian: Tamara AlitoUS Librarian: Allison O'RearHead Librarian/Archivist: Emily LongCataloging/Processing: Carolyn Richardson |
Sign in using your CLS gmail username and password.
Three platforms available: BrainPop Jr (K-3) BrainPop (4-8) and BrainPop ESL Animated educational site to support arts and music, English, engineering, health, math, science and social studies.
Britannica School Online- Elementary
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended web sites
CultureGrams Kids' Edition
Username: cls
Password: Latinhawks9502!
Concise, reliable and up-to-date country, state and Canadian province reports. A variety of resources including fact sheets, maps, photos, videos and more!
Access Code: char_log
Delivers age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content that covers a broad range of subjects, like animals, geography, health, influential people, literature, social studies, sports, and technology.
Access Code: char_log
National Geographic Kids (also known as Nat Geo Kids) collection includes the complete run of the magazine from the first issue in 2009 to the present, as well as books, videos including Amazing Animals, images, and colorful photos.
National Geographic Virtual Library
Access Code: char_log
This comprehensive collection includes National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current, National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World, and National Geographic Kids.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. You can click the word to hear the correct pronunciation.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Each database features expertly-leveled text and navigation specifically designed for your beginning researchers. Enriched with spoken-word audio, text highlighting and audio/video media, PebbleGo builds a foundation of research skills for every learner.
Username: latinhawks
Password: latinhawks
The World Almanac for Kids includes exclusive online-only material as well as content from award-winning Chelsea House and Facts On File sets and series. Each topic area provides resources for homework, reports, and projects, and kids can explore age-appropriate subjects while developing online research skills with a trusted content source.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Includes a suite of seven databases geared toward specific age ranges and abilities, with four student versions of the encyclopedia.
For Teacher Use
ERIC (educational research)
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
New York Times (news)
The CLS Library provides each student and teacher an online subscription to the New York Times.
To activate your NY Times Pass, please follow these steps:
1. To grab a pass, navigate to https://www.nytimes.com/activate-access/digitalpass. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address.
2. After you grab a pass, a confirmation will be sent to your school email.
3. Check your email for the confirmation message, click on the link to validate your email address and claim your Pass. (If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to edu@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.)
4. You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the "Start Your Access" screen. Now you can enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.
HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.
Newsela- New!
See instructions for logging in and syncing your class.
Newsela is a news source for K-5 students that can be used primarily as a whole class tool, or for student-use with grades 4 and 5.
ProQuest Global Newsstream (news)
Username: cls
Password: Latinhawks9502!
Global Newsstream provides access to the most influential and respected contemporary news resources from around the globe — from today's news to backfiles dating back to the 1980s. This comprehensive contemporary news collection delivers superior access to current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, video, podcasts, and digital-only websites. There are no paywalls, and content for the most important sources loads by 8:00 AM U.S. Eastern Time each day.
TeachingBooks (literary resources)
Username: CLS Email address
TeachingBooks strives to enrich everyone's experience reading children's and young adult books with our original and curated literary resources.
Wall Street Journal (news)
Username: library@charlottelatin.org
Password: CLShawks22
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world.
Sign in using your CLS gmail username and password.
BrainPop (4-8) and BrainPop ESL Animated educational site to support arts and music, English, engineering, health, math, science and social studies.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted site.
Britannica School Online- Middle
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended web sites
Username: cls
Password: Latinhawks9502!
Concise, reliable and up-to-date country, state and Canadian province reports. A variety of resources including fact sheets, maps, photos, videos and more!
Gale in Context: Middle School
Access Code: char_log
Categories cover a range of the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, U.S. and world history, literature, and many more.
Access Code: char_log
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Access Code: char_log
National Geographic Kids (also known as Nat Geo Kids) collection includes the complete run of the magazine from the first issue in 2009 to the present, as well as books, videos including Amazing Animals, images, and colorful photos.
National Geographic Virtual Library
Access Code: char_log
This comprehensive collection includes National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current, National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World, and National Geographic Kids.
New York Times (news)
The CLS Library provides each student and teacher an online subscription to the New York Times.
To activate your NY Times Pass, please follow these steps:
1. To grab a pass, navigate to https://www.nytimes.com/activate-access/digitalpass. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address.
2. After you grab a pass, a confirmation will be sent to your school email.
3. Check your email for the confirmation message, click on the link to validate your email address and claim your Pass. (If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to edu@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.)
4. You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the "Start Your Access" screen. Now you can enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.
HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. You can click the word to hear the correct pronunciation.
Username: latinhawks
Password: latinhawks
The World Almanac for Kids includes exclusive online-only material as well as content from award-winning Chelsea House and Facts On File sets and series. Each topic area provides resources for homework, reports, and projects, and kids can explore age-appropriate subjects while developing online research skills with a trusted content source.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Includes a suite of seven databases geared toward specific age ranges and abilities, with four student versions of the encyclopedia.
For Teacher Use
ERIC (educational research)
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
ProQuest Global Newsstream (news)
Username: cls
Password: Latinhawks9502!
Global Newsstream provides access to the most influential and respected contemporary news resources from around the globe — from today's news to backfiles dating back to the 1980s. This comprehensive contemporary news collection delivers superior access to current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, video, podcasts, and digital-only websites. There are no paywalls, and content for the most important sources loads by 8:00 AM U.S. Eastern Time each day.
TeachingBooks (literary resources)
Username: CLS Email address
TeachingBooks strives to enrich everyone's experience reading children's and young adult books with our original and curated literary resources.
Wall Street Journal (news)
Username: library@charlottelatin.org
Password: CLShawks22
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world.
Username: CLSInstructor
Password: Welcome1
Instructions for Streaming/Assigning
Upper School Resources
For Students & Teachers
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Included in our subscription are American Government, American History, Daily Life Through History, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, World History: The Modern Era and World Religions
Username: latinhawks
Password: latinhawks
Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions. Each civilizations history is brought to life through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, primary sources, maps and graphs, timelines, suggested readings, and suggested search terms. All the Infobase history databases in a collection are fully cross-searchable.
Username: latinhawks
Password:cls
The Bloom's library of literary criticism presents expert analysis, by world-renowned scholar Harold Bloom, of the writers and works most often studied in high schools and universities. Professor Bloom has been an original mind and provocative presence on the international library scene for more than 50 years, and his hundreds of critical volumes illuminate the major achievements of the Western literary tradition. The Bloom's eBooks and database are essential to every student of literature.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Millions of rights-cleared images from one trusted site.
Britannica School Online- High
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended web sites
Password: latinhawks
One out of every five teens suffer from mental illness. In support, Gale curated Camerons Collection with nearly 40 eBooks to help nurture and protect students' mental health and wellness.
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
EBSCO: Advanced Placement Source
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Covering a wide array of subject areas from the arts and multicultural studies to the STEM subjects, for honors, AP or IB programs.
EBSCO: Biography Reference Center
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography and Biography Today.
EBSCO: History Reference Center
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century.
EBSCO: Literary Reference Source Plus
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
A rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods.
EBSCO: Poetry & Short Story Reference Center
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
A rich full-text database containing thousands of classic and contemporary poems, short stories, biographies, essays, lesson plans and learning guides.
EBSCO: Points of View Reference Center
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
EBSCO: Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students.
EBSCO: Religion & Philosophy Collection
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research.
EBSCO: Science Reference Source
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos.
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
Provides uncompromising analysis of critical global trends to give academics, policymakers and businesspeople the context they need to have the confidence they want.
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
Access Code: char_log
Offers cross-curricular content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Access Code: char_log
Covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana.
Access Code: char_log
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Gale: Literature Resource Center
Access Code: char_log
Researchers can find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
A digital library of academic journals, books and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform and preserves this content for future generations.
Welcome to MLA Handbook Plus, the Modern Language Association’s subscription-based digital resource. Now students and instructors can access online the new ninth edition of the MLA Handbook through their school’s library. To access off campus, you will need to create an account on campus. In the upper right-hand corner, click "register." Create an account using your CLS Gmail account. See Mrs. Long with questions.
National Geographic Virtual Library
Access Code: char_log
Includes National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current, National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World, and National Geographic Kids.
New York Times (news)
The CLS Library provides each student and teacher an online subscription to the New York Times.
To activate your NY Times Pass, please follow these steps:
1. To grab a pass, navigate to https://www.nytimes.com/activate-access/digitalpass. Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address.
2. After you grab a pass, a confirmation will be sent to your school email.
3. Check your email for the confirmation message, click on the link to validate your email address and claim your Pass. (If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to edu@nytimes.com from your school email address to request confirmation.)
4. You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the "Start Your Access" screen. Now you can enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.
HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.
Alternate Name(s) Grove Art Benezit
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
Offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single, elegant gateway users can accessand simultaneously cross-searchan expanding range of Oxfords acclaimed art reference works.
Username: latinhawks
Password: cls
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. You can click the word to hear the correct pronunciation.
ProQuest Global Newsstream (news)
Username: cls
Password: Latinhawks9502!
Global Newsstream provides access to the most influential and respected contemporary news resources from around the globe — from today's news to backfiles dating back to the 1980s. This comprehensive contemporary news collection delivers superior access to current, full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, video, podcasts, and digital-only websites. There are no paywalls, and content for the most important sources loads by 8:00 AM U.S. Eastern Time each day.
Username: latinhawks
Password: Clshawks2024!
A full-text Spanish-language database covering a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.
TeachingBooks (literary resources)
Username: CLS Email address
TeachingBooks strives to enrich everyone's experience reading children's and young adult books with our original and curated literary resources.
Used by US English and History. See Emily Long for account information.
Wall Street Journal (news)
Username: library@charlottelatin.org
Password: CLShawks22
WSJ online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world.
